Checkpoints to continue, police set for deployment to malls

PNP and checkpoint

Now that the more areas of the country are transitioning into a general community quarantine (GCQ) platform, the Philippine National Police (PNP) will continue to place checkpoints while increasing police visibility on the road starting this weekend.

"Tuloy-tuloy yung checkpoints natin although siguro random ang checkpoints (The checkpoints will continue, although they'll be random)," Maj. Gen. Emmanuel Luis Licup, PNP director for operations, said in a virtual press briefing.

Licup explained that the PNP use the quarantine control points (QCPs) to implement the lockdown measures that are under GCQ or enhanced community quarantine (ECQ).

PNP and checkpoint

"Ang gagawin natin magtatalaga rin tayo ng tauhan upang ipadala sa establishments to ensure ang compliance ng mga establishments, lalo na sa mga mall na magbubukas (We will personnel to the establishments, especially malls malls that will open>," Licup said.

They are also waiting for the Inter-Agency Task Force for the Management of Emerging Infectious Diseases (IATF-EID) regarding specific guidelines on what is allowed under the modified ECQ and GCQ.

Gamboa also added that they plan to make a study of the effect of the "new normal" in the country.

“There is a meeting of our study group which is headed by our chief directorial staff to study really the effect of the new normal (at the) PNP at doon nakita na napakaraming pagbabago na gagawin (there are a lot of changes to be made) and I told them if possible, we can come up with that policy soonest possible kasi ngayong (because this coming) Saturday, May 16, magbabago ang sitwasyon kasi may mga ibang lugar na (there will be a different situation as some areas are will be under) GCQ,” Gamboa said.

PNP and checkpoint

Under the new rule, Cebu City, Metro Manila and Laguna will be now under modified ECQ starting May 16 until May 31.

Regions with moderate risk of infection and under GCQ are: Cagayan Valley; Central Luzon; Calabarzon (except Laguna); Cordillera Administrative Region (CAR); Central Visayas (except Cebu City); Zamboanga Peninsula; Davao Region (Region 11); and Caraga (Region 13).

Those with low risk of infection and will no longer be placed under ECQ or GCQ include: Ilocos Region; Mimaropa; Bicol: Western Visayas; Eastern Visayas; Northern Mindanao; Soccsksargen; and Bangsamoro Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao (BARMM).

Photos from the Philippine News Agency 

Also Read: 

Here are the Checkpoints During Community Quarantine

Luzon Now under ‘Enhanced Community Quarantine’

Read All

Featured Articles

Featured Cars

  • Upcoming