Insider » Latest Posts » MMDA Widens Scope of ‘No Window Hour’ Policy

MMDA Widens Scope of ‘No Window Hour’ Policy

Last week, the Metro Manila Development Authority (MMDA) did a test run on the implementation of the “no window hour” policy meaning that the normal “window hours” between 10am and 3pm when the number coding scheme does not apply have been scraped in certain areas around the city. The MMDA believes that by applying this policy, traffic in metropolitan areas will be reduced by up to 20%.

“No Window Hour” Current Areas

Currently, the “no window hour” policy is being applied in seven areas in Metro Manila:

  1. EDSA
  2. C-5 Road
  3. Roxas Boulevard
  4. Alabang-Zapote Road
  5. Mandaluyong City
  6. Makati City
  7. Las Piñas City

After the three-day test run last week (started October 12 and ended October 14), reports revealed that it indeed yielded positive results. MMDA General Manager Tim Orbos has stated that during the dry run period, travel time has shortened by 10 minutes and 55 seconds for EDSA.

The results also revealed that during the three day trial, around 1,500 motorists were flagged down for the violation of the “no window hour” policy. This is already a big number considering that it only includes those that were apprehended. This does not take into account those who were not caught and those who were aware of the policy implementation and did not travel through the affected areas. If you take these into consideration, you will see just how many people are flooding EDSA and C-5 every day.

EDSA road Manila

“No Window Hour” Expanded Areas

Due to this positive impact on the current traffic situation, the MMDA believes that the policy should be expanded. Implementation of the “no window hour” policy will now include additional major thoroughfares in Metro Manila. Starting November 1, eighteen (18) more roads will be affected by the expanded “no window hour” policy. These roads include:

  1. Bonifacio Avenue
  2. Araneta Avenue
  3. C-6 Road
  4. Carlos P. Garcia Avenue
  5. Commonwelth Avenue
  6. Del Pan
  7. Marcos Highway
  8. McArthur Highway
  9. President Quirino Avenue
  10. Quezon Avenue
  11. Ramon Magsaysay Boulevard
  12. Aurora Boulevard
  13. Recto Avenue
  14. Rizal Avenue
  15. Shaw Boulevard
  16. Ortigas Avenue
  17. South Luzon Expressway (SLEx)
  18. Taft Avenue

The implementation hours were also lengthened by an hour bringing the 7 pm deadline to 8 pm. Vehicles affected by the number coding scheme will not be allowed to travel between 7 am up to 8 pm on the said road networks. If apprehended, the offender will be issued a traffic ticket and will also have to pay a (really quite low) fine of PhP 300.

Implementation of the “no window hour” policy will conclude on January 31 next year. The results of the policy will then be assessed to see if it has been successful in reducing the traffic congestion in Metro Manila. If the results are positive, the policy will most likely be imposed permanently.

Also, if the MMDA continues to get positive results from this operation, expect the Number Coding Scheme to be amended to include the extension of its implementation time. This would then be applied all over the country which means that all other metropolitan areas experiencing heavy traffic particularly those outside Luzon (such as Cebu, Ilo-Ilo, Davao, et al) will also be covered. Hopefully, this improves the overall traffic situation in these problem areas as well.

Silver Toyota Innova side view
Previous post
Best 7-Seater Cars in the Philippines 2016
Blue Hyundai Santa Fe
Next post
Best Diesel Cars 2016 Philippines


  1. […] of 2016, the MMDA widened the scope of the number coding scheme and introduced a new “no window hour” policy in the city of Manila. This means that […]

  2. March 1, 2019 at 8:53 pm — Reply

    is there truth to the rumor that senior citizen are exempted
    from color coding for respect to elders.

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published.