NCR, 7 other provinces to be under Alert Level 2 starting tomorrow


The National Capital Region (NCR), as well as seven other provinces around the country will be placed under a more relaxed Alert Level 2 for 15 days beginning tomorrow (February 1, 2022).


  • When will the Inter-Agency Task Force for the Management of Emerging Infectious Diseases (IATF-MEID) in Metro Manila?

    Based on the Resolution 159-A, the more relaxed alert level will be implemented starting February until February 15, 2022.
  • What are the areas that will be under the said alert level?

    These are Metro Manila, Batanes, Bulacan, Cavite, Rizal, Biliran, Southern Leyte and Basilan.
  • When was the resolution issued?

    This was issued January 29, 2022.
  • Based on Resolution 159-A issued by the Inter-Agency Task Force for the Management of Emerging Infectious Diseases (IATF-MEID), the Metro Manila, as well as Batanes, Bulacan, Cavite, Rizal, Biliran, Southern Leyte and Basilan will be under the aforementioned status.

    IATF Resolution 159-A

    The latest announcement — signed by its chairperson Francisco Duque (Department of Health Secretary) and co-chair Karlo Alexei Nograles (Cabinet Secretary) — was issued last January 29, 2022.

    This follows the suspension of the “no-vaccination, no ride” policy of the government—allowing the unvaccinated and partially-vaccinated workers for 30-days to use the region’s public transportation system.

    IATF Resolution 159-A

    The no-vaccine no ride policy, as explained earlier by the Department of Transportation (DOTr), will only be in effect under COVID-19 Alert Level 3 or higher.

    IATF Resolution 159-A

    Meanwhile, below are the other areas in the country that are under Alert Level 3 status (per latest announcement):

    • For Luzon:
      • Cordillera Administrative Region (CAR): Abra, Apayao, Baguio City, Benguet, Kalinga, Mountain Province;
      • Region I: Dagupan City, Ilocos Norte, Ilocos Sur, La Union, Pangasinan;
      • Region II: City of Santiago, Cagayan, Isabela, Nueva Vizcaya, Quirino;
      • Region III: Angeles City, Aurora, Bataan, Nueva Ecija, Olongapo City, Pampanga, Tarlac, Zambales;
      • Region IV-A: Batangas, Laguna, Lucena City, Quezon Province;
      • Region IV-B: Marinduque, Romblon, Occidental Mindoro, Oriental Mindoro, Puerto Princesa City;
      • Region V: Albay, Camarines Norte, Camarines Sur, Catanduanes, Masbate, Naga City, Sorsogon.

    Araneta Center Bus Station

    • For Visayas:
      • Region VI: Aklan, Antique, Bacolod City, Capiz, Iloilo City, Iloilo, Negros Occidental, Guimaras;
      • Region VII: Cebu City, Lapu-Lapu City, Mandaue City, Bohol, Cebu, Negros Oriental, Siquijor;
      • Region VIII: Ormoc City, Tacloban City, Eastern Samar, Leyte, Northern Samar, Western Samar. 3.
    • For Mindanao:
      • Region IX: City of Isabela, Zamboanga City, Zamboanga Del Sur, Zamboanga del Norte, Zamboanga Sibugay;
      • Region X: Bukidnon, Cagayan de Oro City, Iligan City, Lanao del Norte, Misamis Occidental, Misamis Oriental;
      • Region XI: Davao City, Davao Del Sur, Davao Del Norte, Davao Oriental, Davao de Oro;
      • Region XII: General Santos City, North Cotabato, Sarangani, South Cotabato, Sultan Kudarat;
      • Region XIII (CARAGA): Surigao del Norte, Surigao Del Sur, Agusan Del Norte, Agusan del Sur, Butuan City;
      • Bangsamoro Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao (BARMM): Maguindanao, Cotabato City, Lanao Del Sur.

    Photos from Ruben D. Manahan IV, Presidential Communications Operations Office, Araneta Center

    Also read:

    Opposition to ‘no vax, no ride’ policy snowballs

     ‘No vax, no ride’ policy earns cheers, jeers from lawmakers, stakeholders

    Aspiring lawmaker seeks exemption of partially vaccinated from ‘no vax, no ride' policy

    Read All

    Featured Articles

    Recommended Articles For You

    Read All

    Featured Cars

    • Upcoming