W Series Reopens in 2020

W Series Reopens in 2020

Slowly but surely, more and more women are getting recognized in the world of motorsports. W Series is an all female, single seater racing championship. The series started its first season last year, featuring 26 drivers and contesting six races. The W Series was created as a response to the lack of female drivers entering high level motorsports, such as Formula 1. The last woman to take part in a Formula 1 Grand Prix was Lella Lombardi in the 70s, more than 40 years ago.

“We at W Series are absolutely delighted that, in only our second season, our championship has been welcomed by Formula 1, and we’re utterly thrilled that the final two races of the 2020 W Series season will therefore take place as part of the Formula 1 platform. Our two all-new races will follow six races on the DTM platform, making a very varied, extremely exciting and truly international eight-race championship, in eight countries across the globe. I’m particularly pleased that W Series will now stage races outside Europe, and the USA and Mexico are of course both very important new territories for us,” shares Catherine Bond Muir, Chief Executive Officer of W Series.
Jamie Chadwick, W Series 2019 Driver's Champion
“Interest in and enthusiasm for W Series was enormous in our first season, 2019, among media and fans alike, and the addition of two all-new W Series races on the Formula 1 platform will inevitably increase that enthusiasm and interest. Commercial, tlyoo, following the successful recent announcement of W Series’ new multi-year sponsor-partnership with ROKiT Phones, the fact that W Series will be even bigger and even better in 2020 than it was in 2019 will make the return on investment for our future sponsor-partners better and bigger, too. A lot of work has gone into stitching the W Series / Formula 1 deal together, but above all I want to thank W Series’ drivers, the brave and talented young women who captured the imagination of the sporting world last summer. Mark my words: they’ll do so again this year, from May to October, all over the world,” she adds. The W Series will start on the 30th of May, 2020 in St Petersburg, Russia.  

Also Read: Jamie Chadwick Snatches Inaugural W Series Championship Title

Read All

Featured Articles