Despite New Metro Mayors, MMDA Firm on Provincial Bus Ban

The Metropolitan Manila Development Authority (MMDA) will push through with the implementation of the provincial bus ban along Epifanio de los Santos Avenue (EDSA) despite the election of new Metro Manila mayors following the recently-concluded midterm elections.

This, as the dry run for the provincial bus ban remains suspended as the MMDA finalizes the guidelines for its implementation.

"On the provincial bus ban, though we have new mayors, we will still push through with this policy, we just don’'t have definite timeline but this will be our priority," MMDA spokesperson Assistant Secretary Celine Pialago told reporters on Friday, May 17.

The MMDA suspended the dry run last May 6 as it conducted a meeting with the officials of the Department of Transportation and the Land Transportation Franchising and Regulatory Board to finalize the guidelines for the full implementation of the provincial bus ban.

Strict enforcement of the 'no loading and unloading policy' of provincial buses along EDSA still remains in effect.

The Metro Manila Council, the agency's policymaking body consisting of 17 Metro Manila mayors, approved MMDA Regulation No. 19-002, prohibiting the issuance of business permits to public utility vehicle terminals and operations along EDSA.

MMDA EDSA traffic chief Edison 'Bong’ Nebrija earlier said that the closure of the bus terminals along the major thoroughfare might be deferred pending the assumption of office of the newly elected mayors.

The MMDA official said it is up to the elected mayors to decide on the closure of the terminals which are located mostly in Pasay City and Quezon City.

The agency intends to remove all 47 bus terminals along EDSA by June.

Bus Terminal